Lentil Salad w/ Soft Boiled Egg

I had this salad at a local restaurant . I had it for brunch and I asked the chef more about the salad. With that information I recreated it and it’s delicious, healthy and hearty. It’s a really simple salad to make and that is why I was drawn to it. It starts with cooking lentils . The package I got took about 15minutes to make and 10 minutes to cook. After I cooked them I seasoned them. I like the earthly flavor of the lentils and they add fiber and nutrients to the dish.

While I cooked the lentils , I diced up the veggies. I used peppers, Persian cucumbers, etc. I put all the veggies in a bowl with the cooled lentils and some feta cheese. Salad dressing I kept simple. I used my own lemon olive oil and balsamic vinegar. I seasoned it. This is part of the salad can stand on it own and is a great vegan option. But I added some protein .

I made a soft boiled egg. I wanted the egg to be a bit runny to add that flavor to the salad. The soft boiled egg cooks for 7 minutes and chills in ice water for 3 minutes. I peeled it carefully . And I simply cut in half on the salad . It was an amazing and satisfying bite.

The different parts of the salad can be substituted for something else. Lentils for orzo is an example. Soft boiled egg for tuna or tofu. So being creative can really make this salad your own.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of cooked lentils
  • 1/4 cup sliced cucumbers
  • 1/4 cup of sliced red peppers
  • 1/2 medium – diced red onion
  • 1 medium red beet diced
  • 1/2 cup of thinly sliced greens
  • 2 Tbsps of Cirolini Lemon Olive Oil
  • 2 Tbsps of Cirolini Fig Dark Balsamic
  • 1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • Seasoning

Preparation

  • Rinse the lentils and simmer them for 15 minutes, drain the lentils and cool them
  • While lentils are cooking diced and slice peppers , red onion, red beet, greens and cucumbers
  • Place all the veggies in a large bowl plus feta cheese and lentils
  • Add the olive oil and fig balsamic vinegar and stir to coat everything
  • In a small pan add a raw egg and boil for 7 minutes, then cool egg for 3 minutes in ice water
  • Peel egg carefully
  • Plate the salad with a few scoops of the salad.
  • Place the egg on the salad and cut into the salad
  • Let the egg to run through the salad and enjoy each bite.

Leave a comment