Chicken & Broccoli Casserole

This casserole happened because my wife and I are both working. So I needed to make a meal that was ready to go when we got home from work. And when I say “ready to go” means that it needs to go in the oven for 20 to 30 minutes. So I did some research and found a recipe. But I needed to adjust it for my family’s regimen. I like to have a meal that is full of flavor but it not too high in fat or salt. Also, I want to minimize dairy too.
This casserole is pretty easy to make. But how did I bump up the flavor without adding too much fat or salt. First I cooked the chicken to brown the outside. Then I baked the chicken to thoroughly cook each piece. Second in the same oven at the same time, I roasted the broccoli to add some charring to the veggie. Finally, I did something that is sometimes missed. I added white wine to the bottom of the same pan to get the chicken bits and pieces that is full of flavor. I used this flavor in making the roux.
Finally, I continued to build on flavor by adding spices (21 Salute from TJs). I added thyme and other seasonings to the chicken and broccoli. I did not add that much salt. But those herbs flavor this dish. I added sautéed onions and garlic. As I made the roux I added this flavor booster . So that all that flavor is transferred to the sauce and the entire dish. It tastes amazing. And I achieved my goal of reducing fat and salt and minimizing dairy in this dish. Plus it can be made a couple of days ahead. When ready to serve add the fired onions and bake for 20 minutes.

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon Cirolini olive oil
  • 1 ½ pounds  chicken breasts bone-in
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 2 clove finely diced garlic
  • ⅓ cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cups reduced-fat milk
  • 3 cups of low-sodium chicken broth
  • 3 cups broccoli florets
  • 1.5 cups of cooked Faro
  • 1 ½ cups shredded reduced-fat sharp mozzarella cheese
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon ground pepper
  • 1 cup prepared crispy fried onions
  • 1/2 cup of dry white wine

Preparation

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees
  • Step 1 heat a pan that is oven proof & brown the chicken on both sides
  • Place the chicken on a lined sheet pan in the oven and bake for 15 minutes
  • In a bowl add the broccoli and mixed with olive oil and S&P
  • In the same oven place the broccoli on a sheet plan and place in the oven with the chicken
  • In the same pan where the chicken was browned add the onions sauté till translucent
  • Add garlic and sauté for 1 minute
  • Deglaze the pan with the white wine
  • When wine is reduced add the flour and cook it for 2 minutes
  • Add the chicken stock and milk to the pan and whisk the flour into the stock
  • Bring the sauce to a boil and reduce to a simmer
  • Whisk in the mustard into the sauce
  • Taste sauce for S&P
  • Remove chicken from oven and let broccoli cook for 15 minutes more
  • Remove broccoli from oven , add broccoli , chicken and farro to the sauce
  • Add the grated cheese to the sauce and blend it into the dish.
  • Sprinkle generously the crispy fried onions
  • Bake in oven for 15 minutes till hot and bubbly

Leave a comment