Salvadoran Pork Stew (Pozole)

One of my favorite soups but made with pork butt instead of beef. I was challenged to use my instapot and decide to make this cousin to pozole. It’s a Salvadoran version that I saw my grandmother make many times. I roasted pork butt in the oven for 45 minutes with onions and carrots. Then I put the roasted pork, veggies & couple of quarts of water into the instapot for 75 minutes. In another pot, I cooked onions, garlic, and pork stew meat. Then I add the veggies (potatoes, corn, carrots and #chayote, green chilies, and the bone stock). Plus I added oregano, cumin, and bay leaf for seasoning. I simmered the soup on the stove for a couple of hours. This can also be made with beef.
The instapot makes this soup much easier to prepare. If I made the stock on the stovetop would take a few hours. With the pressure cooker, I make the stock in 90 minutes or less. Once the stock is made, I only have to add the veggies and stew meat to the stock. I like to simmer the soup for at least an hour but 2 hours would be perfect. This is a hearty soup and could be served as a lunch or dinner.

Ingredients

  • 1.5 pounds pork butt
  • 1 pound of Pork stew meat (cubed)
  • 2 large onion (diced)
  • 2 stocks of celery (diced)
  • 2 large carrot (diced)
  • 2 medium potatoes (diced)
  • 1 Chayote (diced)
  • 3 Ears of corn (cut into small pieces)
  • 1/4 cup of diced green chiles (mild)
  • 1 Tsp cumin and oregano
  • 1 bay leaves
  • 3 cloves of garlic finely minced
  • Salt and Pepper

Preparation

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees
  • In a oven proof pan add cut onions, carrots and carrots
  • Layer the pork onto the vegetables (season with salt and pepper)
  • Place in the oven for 45 minutes to an hour
  • Pork should be caramelized when ready
  • Place pork and vegetables & bay leaf into instapot
  • Add water to the pot and close with lid
  • Cook on manual for 75 minutes
  • After 75 minutes let steam release naturally (about 30 minutes)
  • While the instapot is cooking the pork, place a large pot on medium heat
  • Add 1 Tbsp of oil and brown pork stew meat in batches.
  • Set the browned stew meat aside
  • Add a whole diced onion and cook for a 5 minutes
  • Add 1 diced carrot ,1 celery stock and garlic
  • Once the veggies are cooked add back the pork, corn, green chilies diced, potatoes and chayote .
  • Add the stock from the instapot, plus oregano and cumin.
  • Simmer for at least an hour
  • Serve with lime and shredded cabbage.

Leave a comment