Mexi-Chicken Barbecue

I’ve been thinking about grilling chicken thighs for some time. I have this mini bbq in my backyard. My son left it when he moved to the east coast. It’s probably 15 inches across. It heats up quick with charcoal , plus its easy to clean up. So I was talking to a. friend about mexican grilling. She shared this recipe over lunch one day. I gave it a try. Even though I was unsure of the ingredients going together. Like using mustard in the recipe because it helps the spices stick to the chicken while grilling. It’s true it does help. Interestingly, I did remember my abuela using mustard in her cooking. She used it to cook turkey. Basting turkey with the mustard dripping makes for delicious bird.

Also I used the pestle & motar too . This I used it to infuse the garlic and other flavors into the cilantro. This technique really makes a difference. Crushing the garlic this way transforms the flavors. It does take some elbow grease. I’m hoping over time that my arms get super strong. So I can really ground the ingredents better.

Ingredients;

  • 4 chicken thighs bone in or out
  • 2 limes
  • 1 Tbps Ground Cumin
  • 3 Tbsp of Olive Oil
  • 1 bunch of fresh Cilantro
  • 4 Cloves of Garlic
  • 1 Tbsp of Mustard ( I had Dijon on hand)
  • Salt and Pepper

Method

  • 1. Using a pestle & motar I crushed the garlic into a paste
  • 2 I add a bit of olive oil and 1 cup of chopped cilantro
  • 3. Using the pestle I puréed the cilantro
  • 4. I added the remain ingredients till I had a rough paste
  • 5. In a large gallon plastic bag, I added the chicken thighs and cilantro and garlic paste.
  • 6. I put the bag in the refrigerator and let it marinate for a couple of hours
  • 7. I started the grill with briquettes with a cool and hot side.
  • 8. I cooked the thighs for about 8 minutes on each side till thoughly cooked.
  • 8. Serve the chicken with some fresh limes and cilantro and a side of rice and beans.

Leave a comment